Where has Leslie Lewis-Walker been?

I would like to say a big hello to everyone! Its been a while! 
Learnt some lessons being out of the limelight that I won't forget in
a hurry. I will start with Beatology! So we had the first Beatology in May, 
which went well *considering the nights complexity* and I and Jason Jones
learnt nuff. We saw something we could bring to the music table that
was potentially a monster and most of all positive. After the first, 
we were looking forward to the July one! We had everything in place 
from the new team foundation to the new and improved format...
Interest for this one was high and we almost had music producers 
throwing themselves at us to get a spot to show off their talent.

Nearer the end of June, we had news #out the blue that the bar had 
lost their music licence. This consequently meant that we were 
screwed and could not hold the event :(. The alternatives would 
be to find another venue, which would be extremely difficult in
such a time frame, or cancel? So upon reviewing, we cancelled the 
event! I must admit, I didn't feel that bad for myself, but 
I felt bad for the people taking part. I felt like I was responsible 
(in some mad way). This was their opportunity to shine and
 it was being taken away from them!

So... Whilst this was all happening, I have was recording my
 new stuff.. This kept me kinda sane over this period and 
also allowed me to express myself in ways I couldn't through Beatology.
 If you have known me since school (which would be 
hardly any of you lol). I started out performing singing in the first 
place. I only got into production as a plan B 
(which worked out). I was part of the trio that created 'Soul Lab', 
which was a live music night #with a live band. 
On a 'special one off' I had a 3 song set. Within this set, I sang 
'Ordinary People' by John Legend. The crowd went
 nuts when I started singing, to the point where they stopped me 
half way through, to start me again! I guess no one
 ever expected me to be the singer type really! 

I enjoy producing, but I find it frustrating! Here are some
 typical examples of common aspects that frustrate:

After I take the time producing tracks, artists don't vocal 
them (even after accepting them and liking them).

When I have a vision for a track I'm making, the artist will
 have a different vision, meaning my communication gets lost.

I guess, as a producer, I feel I don't get full credit... And
 kinda get forgotten about... Even though its my foundation.

Solution: I do it all win win :)

Side note: Must admit, I have been super lucky in working with
 all the artists I have worked with 
(check out my, myspace for name drops lol).

In this period, I started to think... If I still enjoyed the 
nature of promoting? Yes I loved seeing people 
expose their talent, but the headache of dealing with people 
dropping out last minute and dealing with the 
politics of personalities made it harder! See I wanted 
to do another Beatology because I didn't want to give 
up and leave a project half finished.. Also I don't like
 to give up on anything... However, was I listening to 
me.. Or was I listening to everyone else who thought I 
should be doing this or that *putting me into a box*. 
See I have realised that peers can be positive, but they 
can also be a negative. Not on purpose, as they may
 mean well.. But they will have an opinion, which can 
install fear into someone else. As they say, what is right
 for one, may not be for someone else. I always wanted to 
know what the phrase 'Doing me' really defined personally!
 I guess through this experience I realised its about doing 
right by yourself and following your own path.. 
Rather than others! 

So in the time I have been away, I have been recording 
my own stuff. Producing/singing and much more... 
What I wanna do is 'just me', no one else. This is why I 
originally fell in love with music and the feeling is amazing!
 Beatology might well return in the future, but for now... Its
 a project on hold. I'm going to be performing in the next 
few months in various places, so keep your eyes peeled via Twitter 
and my blog (a fair few will be in August and September)!



www.twitter.com/leslewiswalker
www.myspace.com/leslielewiswalker
(For my production, new music soon come).

Here are some pics I took recently. Totally big salad #my opinion lol 
they are kinda my first press shots I guess. 





Leave a Reply

